Intro: A traveller in search of a sustainable, impactful future.

Hello everybody!

I am Pietro, a final year Italian management student at Lancaster University.

This is me, with a heart-shaped potato.

11182719_10206866043829873_74125096705281036_o

With a study abroad experience in Montreal and a placement year at IBM in my back pocket, I’m edging ever closer to the final stages of my student career, before taking the big step into the ‘real world’.

It’s around this time that I’ve began to consider what I’ll do to leave a lasting, positive impact on this ever-changing planet. But, I’m just not yet sure how to go about it.

One the thing I do know is that one day I want to found my own sustainable enterprise, and with that goal in mind, it blows my mind to think I am one of the few selected students to attend the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) Liaison Delegate meeting in Montreux, Switzerland, and learn about what the most important players in the business world are currently doing to reduce their impact on the environment, striving to shift the conversation from profitability in the short-term to sustainability in the long-term.

I am a passionate traveller, and having covered four continents (hopefully, South America next!) I’ve had the chance to appreciate and fall in love with our planet in many of its shapes and sizes (ie. a wierdly shaped potato). However, this has led me to fear what is going to happen to it and its future inhabitants if we continue exploiting its resources, negatively impacting the most whilst benefitting the few. And it’s why now I invite all of you readers to join me and my fellow companions attending the WBSCD to engage in the conversation on sustainability.

The organizations of the WBSCD community have created an ambitious roadmap called Action 2020, which outlines a set of priority areas member businesses will focus on to slowly get closer to the overarching Vision of “having 9 billion people all living well and within the boundaries of our planet by 2050”.

With a year spent in the vibrant technology consultancy business, I am keen to understand how technological advances are going to be discussed to help us become smarter in our business processes, getting us closer to Vision 2050.

However, I believe the spirit of the event is what I look most forward to. A community of delegates from all over the world, representing their businesses in the name of a sustainable future, discussing hands-on what they’re going to do about it. Gives me the chills just to think I’ll be part of it!

Stay tuned for more updates.

Ciao,

Pietro

Leave a Reply

